Nature Paradise with History

Whether you are interested in rock formations or plants, like to observe game or birds, want to walk in the footsteps of history or get to know the culture and everyday life of the inhabitants – or just want to let the landscape work on you and take a really deep breath: The Naukluft has something for everyone.

Geology

Flora

Fauna

History

Residents / Social

Geology

Stream and rock pool in the Quiver Tree Gorge at BüllsPort. (Photo: Kiki Beelitz / BüllsPort Lodge & Farm)

The Naukluft mountain massif forms part of the Great Escarpment between the high plateau in the interior (about 2 000 m above sea level) and the eastern plains of the Namib Desert (400 – 500 m above sea level). Also known as over-thrust mountains, its upper layers of dolomite are around 540 million years old. During the collision of two cratons (parts of the Earth’s crust) the mighty Damara Mountains pile up. The rocks on its southern flank, roughly at the location of today’s Gamsberg, start to shift. Based on saline sediments, which are turned into a gel-like state by the enormous pressure, the entire massif of 68 km by 28 km glides a distance of about 78 km, until approximately 495 million years ago it comes to rest at its current location.

Phases of higher precipitation lasting millions of years cause a process of karstification, where water dissolves calcrete in the dolomite and creates passages and caves, which today protect it from evaporation. At various points, rainwater emerges in the form of springs. This is why you’ll find water-bearing streams throughout the year in the Naukluft.

How to experience: Quiver Tree Gorge, Bogenfels and Bull’s Head Trail as well as Naukluft Safari and BüllsPort Discovery Ride

Flora

Lush vegetation around a rock basin in the quiver tree gorge at BüllsPort. (Photo: Sven-Eric Stender / Bush Telegraph Namibia)

Rocky cliffs, mountainous slopes, streams in shady ravines and dry riverbeds in broader valleys – with such a diversity of habitats, it is no wonder that the Naukluft has an exceptionally rich variety of plants. In addition, two biomes meet at the Naukluft, the Nama Karoo and Namib Desert.

With an average of less than 120 mm rain per year, it is an extremely dry environment. During the course of evolution, many plants have creatively adapted to these harsh surroundings, including succulents such as the quiver tree (Aloidendron dichotomum), candelabra euphorbia (Euphorbia virosa) and Bushman’s hat (Hoodia gordonii). Other well-known desert species found here are the moringa (Moringa ovalifolia), some commiphora species, Bushman’s candle (Sarcocaulon patersonii), and last but not least, the resurrection bush (Myrothamnus flabellifolius). At streams and rock pools on the other hand, you will find lush vegetation ranging from mighty fig trees (Ficus sycomorus) to aquatic plants.

How to experience: Hiking Trails and Horse Rides, as well as Farm Tour

Fauna

Hartmann’s mountain zebra in a high valley of the Naukluft at BüllsPort. (Photo: BüllsPort Lodge & Farm)

The variety of habitats and the open water ensure that the Naukluft is just as rich in wildlife as it is in vegetation. Mammals alone make up 50 different species. In the valleys and the plains at the foot of the mountains, you can see springbok and gemsbok, kudu, baboon, warthog and bat-eared fox. The mountains are also populated by baboon and kudu as well as klipspringer, steenbok and rock dassie, and of course the Hartmann’s mountain zebra, an endemic species that almost only occurs in Namibia. Predators include leopard, caracal, African wildcat and spotted genet.

In addition, the Naukluft is a true bird’s paradise: More than 200 species have been spotted so far, including Ludwig’s bustard (Neotis ludwigii) and crimson-breasted shrike (Laniarius atrococcineus), birds of prey such as rock eagle (Aquila verreauxii) and augur buzzard (Buteo augur), as well as water birds such as the hammerkop (hammer head; Scorpus umbretta). Supplementing many reptiles, there are also amphibians and fish in the Naukluft – housed in its water-filled rock pools.

How to experience: Hiking Trails and Horse Rides, as well as Farm Tour

History

Graves near the ruins of the former German police station at BüllsPort. (Photo: Sven-Eric Stender / Bush Telegraph)

The fact that humans have been living in the Naukluft for over 50 000 years is evident through the datable residues of hearths in caves and other sheltered places. There are also many sites where stone tools were made. However, rock art is scarce – at least at BüllsPort.

This place was ideally positioned for hunters following game: Here, the animals migrate through the narrow valley of the dry Tsondab River, between the plains of the highlands and the grasslands of the eastern Namib.

Thus the name Naukluft, which originates from the Afrikaans term “nou kloof” = narrow gorge, allthough the first syllable of the German word does not make sense at all and the second one actually means “gap”. Even worse is the malapropism of the original name of the valley’s entrance: Bull’s Mouth, the English translation of “Gob Ams” (Khoekhoegowab / Nama language) turned into the Afrikaans Bul se Poort (Bull’s gate) and finally mutated into the meaningless German word Büllsport (because “u” in Afrikaans sounds like the short German umlaut “ü”) – which, on top of it, suggests the incorrect hyphenation of the word in German as Büll-sport. Hence our preferred spelling: BüllsPort.

How to experience: Archeology Trail, Bull’s Head Trail

The different languages indicate that this area has an eventful history: The San (Bushmen) are displaced by Nama groups from the Cape at the beginning of the 18th century; at the beginning of the 19th century explorers, hunters and traders from Europe move through the surroundings; while in 1868, Basters (coloured descendants from Khoe and Europeans) on their trek from the Cape northwards settle in the area near Rehoboth. In 1884, the terrain that makes up today’s Namibia is declared a German Protected Area.

In 1894, the Oorlam-Nama under the leadership of Kaptein Hendrik Witbooi engage in fierce battles with the German Schutztruppe in the Naukluft mountains. Evidence of combat is the grave of a Schutztruppler (German soldier) near the old police station. A second grave commemorates a police officer killed in 1915 in the wake of the Baster uprising, while South African troops as Allies of England in the First World War advance from the south into the German colony.

How to experience: Ruins of the police station and graves at the starting point of the Köcherbaumschlucht Trail

The war also has an impact on the first attempt to farm at BüllsPort. While the farmer serves as reservist in the Schutztruppe to fight against the South Africans, the farm is plundered by Basters and Nama. The next farmer does not have much luck either – he is interned in the Second World War by the mandatory power of South Africa.

In 1950, farmer widow Anna Sauber acquires the farm BüllsPort for her son Hermann, who, together with his wife Hilde, builds it up piece by piece, despite several years of drought. As from 1984, their son Ernst gradually takes over the management. After a severe drought, Ernst and his wife Johanna from Germany open their guest business in 1993: BüllsPort officially becomes a guest farm – with cattle and horse breeding.

How to experience: Farm Tour

The impetus for this step is the Independence of Namibia in 1990, an event that results in increasing numbers of tourists visiting the country. This is a blessing for BüllsPort, because even in drought years, which set narrow limits to farm operation, the landscape does not lose its charm and visitors are able to enjoy the area’s natural beauty.

An additional attraction is the fascinating mountain world of BüllsPort, which captivates hiking and horse riding fans alike. The neighbouring nature reserve attracts many visitors, too. Proclaimed in 1968 as the Naukluft Mountain Zebra Park, it protects the unique flora and fauna, in particular Hartmann’s mountain zebra (Equus zebra hartmannae), which occurs almost exclusively in Namibia. In 1979, the reserve is linked to the Namib Desert Park (founded in 1907), and since then it is part of the Namib Naukluft Park, the largest nature reserve in Namibia with an approximate area of 50,000 km².

Residents / Social

Playground of primary school Nabasib. (Photo: Büllsport Lodge & Farm)

Tourism creates much-needed jobs in the rural area. BüllsPort alone employs 17 staff members, most of whom live in the area and support large families. Due to the lack of knowledge and skills, they are trained from scratch for their tasks. In addition, BüllsPort offers courses in basic skills such as writing and arithmetic.

BüllsPort also invests in the future: The Naukluft Foundation, founded in 2005 together with Ababis Guest Farm, supports the Nabasib State Primary School located 15 km away. It offers the children of employees working on surrounding farms a regulated instruction from grade 1 to 7.

The school can be visited, subject to a timely request. It has a powerfully voiced choir, which has evolved excellently under the guidance of dedicated teacher Elfrieda Plaatjies and won the first prize in regional school competitions.

How to experience: Excursion to Nabasib Primary School

Newsletter "Naukluft Mail"

Straight from the Naukluft to your mailbox: News, information and exciting stories about the guest business and farm operations of BüllsPort, as well as the mountains of the Naukluft. Subscribe to our quarterly newsletter "Naukluft Mail".

Newsletter von BüllsPort

"Naukluft Mail": Alle drei Monate Neues und Interessantes von BüllsPort Lodge & Farm und aus der Naukluft.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihre Registrierung!

Newsletter from BüllsPort

"Naukluft Mail": Every three months, receive the latest interesting news from BüllsPort Lodge & Farm and the Naukluft Mountains.

Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter!

Pin It on Pinterest

Naturparadies mit Geschichte

Ob man sich für Gesteinsformationen oder Pflanzen interessiert, ob man gerne Wild oder Vögel beobachtet, ob man auf den Spuren der Geschichte wandeln oder Kultur und Alltag der Bewohner kennenlernen möchte oder ob man einfach nur die Landschaft auf sich wirken lassen und so richtig tief durchatmen will – die Naukluft hat für jeden etwas zu bieten.

Geologie

Flora

Fauna

Geschichte

Bewohner/Soziales

Geologie

Bach und Felsbecken in der Köcherbaumschlucht auf BüllsPort. (Foto: Kiki Beelitz / BüllsPort Lodge & Farm)

Die Naukluft bildet einen Teil der Großen Randstufe zwischen dem Hochplateau im Landesinneren (rund 2.000 m ü.M.) und den östlichen Ebenen der Namibwüste (400 – 500 m ü.M.). Sie wird auch als Deckengebirge bezeichnet. Die oberen Schichten aus Dolomit sind rund 540 Millionen Jahre alt. Bei der Kollision zweier Kratone (Erdkrustenmassen) türmt sich das gewaltige Damara-Gebirge auf. Die Gesteine an der Südflanke etwa auf Höhe des heutigen Gamsbergs geraten in Bewegung. Auf salzhaltigen Sedimenten, die durch den enormen Druck in einen Gel-artigen Zustand versetzt werden, gleitet das gesamte Massiv von 68 km Länge und 28 km Breite rund 78 km weit, bis es vor etwa 495 Millionen Jahre an seinem heutigen Platz zur Ruhe kommt.

Jahrmillionen dauernde Phasen mit höherem Niederschlag sorgen für Verkarstung: Das Wasser löst Kalk im Dolomit und schafft damit Gänge und Höhlen, in denen es vor Verdunstung geschützt wird. An verschiedenen Stellen tritt das Regenwasser in Form von Quellen wieder aus, so dass in der Naukluft ganzjährig wasserführende Bäche zu finden sind.

Zum Erleben: Köcherbaumschlucht, Bogenfels und Bull’s Head Trail sowie Naukluft Safari und BüllsPort Entdeckungsritt.

Flora

Üppige Vegetation an einem Felsbecken in der Köcherbaumschlucht auf BüllsPort. (Foto: Sven-Eric Stender / Bush Telegraph Namibia)

Felswände, Berghänge, Bachläufe in schattigen Schluchten und Rivierläufe (Trockenflussbetten) in breiteren Tälern: Bei dieser Vielzahl an Habitaten ist es kein Wunder, dass sich in der Naukluft eine außergewöhnlich artenreiche Pflanzenwelt ausgeprägt hat. Hinzu kommt, dass sich an der Naukluft zwei Biome treffen: Nama Karoo und Namibwüste.

Bei weniger als 120 mm Regen im Jahresschnitt ist es äußerst trocken. Viele Pflanzen haben sich im Zuge der Evolution einfallsreich an die harsche Umgebung angepasst. Dazu gehören Sukkulenten wie Köcherbaum (Aloidendron dichotomum), Kandelaber-Euphorbie (Euphorbia virosa) und Buschmann-Hut (Hoodia gordonii), aber auch Flaschenbaum (Moringa ovalifolia), Papierrinden-Bäume (Commiphora) und Buschmannkerze (Sarcocaulon patersonii) – und nicht zuletzt der Auferstehungsbusch (Myrothamnus flabellifolius). An den Bachläufen und Felsbecken hingegen findet man eine üppige Vegetation von mächtigen Feigenbäumen (Ficus sycomorus) bis hin zu Wasserpflanzen.

Zum Erleben: Alle Wanderwege und Ausritte sowie Farmrundfahrt.

Fauna

Hartmanns Bergzebra in einem Hochtal der Naukluft auf BüllsPort. (Foto: BüllsPort Lodge & Farm)

Die Vielzahl an Habitaten und das vorhandene Wasser sorgen dafür, dass die Tierwelt der Naukluft ebenso artenreich ist wie seine Pflanzenwelt. Allein an Säugetieren sind hier rund 50 verschiedene Arten zuhause. In den Tälern und Flächen am Fuße der Berge sieht man Springbock- und Gembock-Herden, Kudus, Paviane, Warzenschweine und Löffelhunde. In den Bergen leben ebenfalls Paviane und Kudus sowie Klippspringer, Steinböckchen und Klippschliefer – und natürlich das Hartmanns Bergzebra, das endemisch ist, also fast nur in Namibia vorkommt. Von den Raubtieren sind Leopard, Karakal, afrikanische Wildkatze und Ginsterkatze vertreten.

Außerdem ist die Naukluft ein wahres Vogelparadies: Über 200 Arten wurden bisher gesichtet, darunter Ludwigtrappe (Neotis ludwigii), und Greifvögel wie Felsenadler (Aquila verreauxii) und Augur-Bussard (Buteo augur) und Wasservögel wie der Hamerkop (Hammerkopf; Scopus umbretta). Neben vielen Reptilien gibt es in der Naukluft sogar Amphibien und Fische – nämlich in den mit Wasser gefüllten Felsbecken.

Zum Erleben: Alle Wanderwege und Ausritte sowie Farm-Rundfahrt.

Geschichte

Gräber nahe der Ruine der ehemaligen deutschen Polizeistation auf BüllsPort. (Foto: Sven-Eric Stender / Bush Telegraph)

Dass der Mensch bereits seit 50.000 Jahren in der Naukluft lebt, belegen datierbare Rückstände von Feuerstellen in Höhlen und an anderen geschützten Plätzen. Auch gibt es viele Stätten, an denen Steinwerkzeuge hergestellt wurden. Felskunst findet man dagegen – zumindest auf BüllsPort – nur ganz vereinzelt.

Für den jagenden, dem Wild hinterher ziehenden Menschen ist dieser Ort ideal: Hier wandert das Flächenwild durch das enge Tal des Tsondab-Riviers (Trockenflusses) zwischen den Ebenen des Hochlandes und den Grasflächen der östlichen Namib hin und her.

Daher auch der Name Naukluft, der aus der Afrikaansen Bezeichnung „nou kloof“ = enge Schlucht herrührt. Noch schlimmer ist die deutsche Verballhornung beim ursprünglichen Namen des Taleingangs: Aus Bull’s Mouth, der englischen Übersetzung von „Gob Ams“ (Khoekhoegowab / Nama-Sprache) wird in Afrikaans Bul se Poort (Bullenpforte) und schließlich das sinnentleerte deutsche Wort Büllsport (weil U im Afrikaansen als kurzes Ü ausgesprochen wird) – was zu allem Überfluss auch noch zur falschen Silbentrennung Büll-sport verleitet. Daher unsere Schreibweise BüllsPort.

Zum Erleben: Archäologie Trail, Bull’s Head Trail.

Die verschiedenen Sprachen belegen die bewegte Geschichte dieser Gegend: Die San (Buschleute) werden Anfang des 18. Jahrhunderts von Nama-Gruppen aus dem Kap verdrängt. Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts ziehen aus Europa stammende Entdecker, Jäger und Händler durch das Gebiet; 1868 lassen sich Baster (Mischlinge aus Verbindungen zwischen Khoe und Europäern) auf ihrem Zug vom Kap nach Norden bei Rehoboth nieder. 1884 wird das Gebiet des heutigen Namibia zum deutschen Schutzgebiet erklärt.

1894 liefern sich die Oorlam-Nama unter Führung von Kaptein Hendrik Witbooi in der Naukluft heftige Gefechte mit der deutschen Schutztruppe. Davon zeugt das Grab eines Schutztrupplers nahe der alten Polizeistation. Das zweite Grab erinnert an einen Polizeibeamten, der 1915 an dieser Stelle im Zuge des Baster-Aufstandes getötet wird, während südafrikanische Truppen als Alliierte Englands im Ersten Weltkrieg von Süden her in die deutsche Kolonie vordringen.

Zum Erleben: Startpunkt des Köcherbaumschlucht Trails: Ruine Polizeistation, Gräber.

Der Krieg bringt auch den ersten Farmbetrieb auf BüllsPort zum Erliegen: Während der Farmer als Schutztruppen-Reservist gegen die Südafrikaner kämpft, wird die Farm von Bastern und Nama geplündert. Dem nächsten Farmer geht es nicht viel besser: Er wird im Zweiten Weltkrieg von der südafrikanischen Mandatsmacht interniert.

1950 erwirbt die Farmerwitwe Anna Sauber die Farm BüllsPort für ihren Sohn Hermann, der sie mit seiner Frau Hilde trotz mehrfacher Dürrejahre in harter Arbeit Stück für Stück aufbaut. Ihr Sohn Ernst übernimmt ab 1984 schrittweise die Bewirtschaftung. Mit seiner aus Deutschland stammenden Frau Johanna eröffnet Ernst Sauber nach schwerer Dürre 1993 den Gastbetrieb: BüllsPort wird zur Gästefarm – mit Rinderhaltung und Pferdezucht.

Zum Erleben: Farmrundfahrt.

Den Anstoß dafür gibt die Unabhängigkeit Namibias 1990, infolge derer mehr und mehr Touristen ins Land kommen. Ein Segen für BüllsPort, denn selbst in Dürrejahren, die dem Farmbetrieb enge Grenzen setzen, verliert die Landschaft nicht ihren Reiz.

Hinzu kommt die faszinierende Bergwelt von BüllsPort, die Wander- und Reit-Fans in ihren Bann schlägt. Auch das benachbarte Naturschutzgebiet zieht viele Besucher an. Bereits 1968 als Naukluft Mountain Zebra Park proklamiert, wird dort die einzigartige Pflanzen- und Tierwelt geschützt, darunter vor allem das fast nur in Namibia vorkommende Hartmanns Bergzebra (Equus zebra hartmannae). 1979 wird es mit dem bereits 1907 gegründeten Namib Desert Park zum heutigen Namib Naukluft Park verbunden, der mit rund 50.000 km² Fläche das größte Naturschutzgebiet Namibias ist.

Bewohner/Soziales

Spielplatz der Grundschule Nabasib. (Foto: Büllsport Lodge & Farm)

Der Tourismus schafft dringend benötigte Arbeitsplätze in dem ländlichen Gebiet. Allein BüllsPort beschäftigt mit Lodge- und Farmbetrieb 17 Mitarbeiter, die zum größten Teil aus der Umgebung stammen und vielköpfige Familien ernähren. Aufgrund kaum vorhandener Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten werden sie von Grund auf für ihre Tätigkeit im Betrieb ausgebildet. Darüber hinaus bietet BüllsPort Kurse in grundlegenden Bereichen wie Schreiben und Rechnen an.

Außerdem investiert BüllsPort in die Zukunft: Durch die Naukluft-Stiftung, 2005 gemeinsam mit der Gästefarm Ababis gegründet, unterstützt es die 15 km entfernt gelegene staatliche Grundschule Nabasib. Sie bietet den Kindern von Mitarbeitern der umliegenden Farmen einen geregelten Unterricht in den Klassen 1 bis 7.

Die Schule kann man übrigens bei rechtzeitiger Anfrage besichtigen. Sie hat einen stimmgewaltigen Schulchor, der sich unter der Leitung der engagierten Lehrerin Elfrieda Plaatjies hervorragend entwickelt und bei regionalen Schulwettbewerben den ersten Preis gewonnen hat.

Zum Erleben: Ausflug zum Schulchor von Nabasib.

Newsletter "Naukluft Mail"

Direkt aus der Naukluft in Ihre Mailbox: Neuigkeiten, Infos und spannende Geschichten zu Gast- und Farmbetrieb von BüllsPort und zur Bergwelt der Naukluft. Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter "Naukluft Mail", der alle drei Monate erscheint.

Newsletter von BüllsPort

"Naukluft Mail": Alle drei Monate Neues und Interessantes von BüllsPort Lodge & Farm und aus der Naukluft.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihre Registrierung!

Newsletter from BüllsPort

"Naukluft Mail": Every three months, receive the latest interesting news from BüllsPort Lodge & Farm and the Naukluft Mountains.

Thank you for subscribing to our newsletter!

Pin It on Pinterest